Tabletop games have never been my strong suit.

I have always wanted to try my hand at Dungeons and Dragons, but as a kid, I was embarrassed what people would think of me. People’s opinions always ruled what I shared with in public, or reached out to others to learn, so I decided asking about learning what was considered “nerdy” was something to keep off my to do list. Little did I know that being nerdy or geeky was awesome and to be celebrated.

Years would pass, and as most people know the habits and insecurities get so embedded in your mind that you can’t truly shake the notion of mockery or scorn by people who you know wouldn’t judge you anyway. It’s safe to say I’ve put off many, many things that culture once didn’t accept that seemed to be especially interesting and just today I started down the probably long path of checking off one of my goals. I started my journey on a D&D campaign.

The Rise of Reedicus Feedicus

Now part of the name is wasn’t exactly my choice, but it was either that or Moun Ton Doo, and besides the lung busting laughter that ensued, I preferred Reedicus Feedicus. Before my best friend and I started working on my stats and background, I pulled up an old video made from character models from the game Summoner acting out a skit written by Rick and Morty’s Dan Harmon. I’ve known about it for years and I’m sure so many other people know it, I just couldn’t help having “I wanna cast magic missile” playing in the background.

Finding out that the father of all rpgs was far different than what I’m used to playing threw me off a bit, I was expecting to play only by the set amount of points to each character and that I would gain more as I leveled up. When told that I was stuck with the amount I have and that I could roll for the stats I would have forever, only skills adding up as you level. So much I knew about tabletop games.

I waited about 15 years to learn about this game, and what certain video game franchises that toted D&D mechanics had taught me differently than what the game appeared to be. Not that I’m saying I was led astray, but that I what I was expecting and what I got were marginally different things. Taking the time to learn these new old rules takes a toll on someone who apparently knows absolutely nothing about rpgs, even if the differences weren’t all that major, but it does put things into question for me.

Was basic point allotment apart of the game before or was it added in later on in favor for those who didn’t like the “fuckin’ deal with what you roll” mentality? Or did video game and future table top games just adapt because those who were ok with it were tired of hearing those who weren’t complain? I can’t say for certain, though I’m sure the more I research, I’ll find out eventually but for now I’m taking things one dice roll at a time.

Tiefling Rouges Have More Fun

I always struggle in games when it lets me choose classes. I feel this urge building up deep inside of me that screams at me. Sometimes a wild cry of “I would love to shoot a motherfucker from a long ways away”, while another screams “Hell, let me charm my way through life while stealing people’s priceless objects.” So many voices cry out to be heard, to be given a chance to live outside the bounds of our laws, and sometimes our morals. I just love the rush of all the possibilities of games like that but I know, in the end, I can’t choose them all. So I whittle down the most interesting of the characters and what skills I would rather utilize, if I could do so myself.

Not always an easy task, but I end up being a Rouge about 90% of the time, as long as I have sleight of hand, a high charisma stat so I can charm the pants off people or talk myself out of any situation, and the use of a bow is always a must. I’ll take the shadowy path anytime, but I have some standards. Either being Chaotic Good or Neutral keeps me in line with my own moral compass to some regard, I mean Reedicus still steals and usually lies to NPCs but he isn’t cold hearted.

This go round, I decided on Tiefling, for those who don’t know, it’s basically a devil. In my case, after rolling for height and weight, I’m 5’4″ and weigh 125, so not all that intimidating looking. Heck, we even found a profile image for it as if Reedicus drew it. The DM in training, the aforementioned friend, and I spent the next 15 minutes or more just working out simple stats, me asking questions because I had no idea what I was doing or what some of the more unfamiliar aspects of character development were. In the end, I liked how things turned out, even the dice rolls were in my favor for the stats.

tieflingrogue_oots

One of my favorite race abilities just so happened to make my character act like a total dick if he wanted to. Making sounds come from pinpoint locations, making my voice booming, making unlocked doors and windows fly open or close at a whim, and even flickering candles. I could just be a total ass while staying in the shadows if I wanted to! As well as one of the, I can’t remember the actual word, but I’ll call it a skill, was to be proficient in an horned instrument just so I could use the horn and the booming voice all in one go if I wanted to. Yeah, I will have fun with this when an actual campaign goes down.

The Mock Battle To End All Mock Battles

To end the day, once Reedicus was brought to life, he wanted to run a mock battle between me, 5 NPC characters in which he created before I arrived, including a Warforged golem named Sir Kills Alot, and 7 goblins. Within the course of 20 minutes, I think I lost track of time between all the laughing and commenting on all the events transpiring within the cave. The battle was simple, but as my first run at it started with me moving the dwarf bard into the line of fire as a meat-shield, and even this didn’t end with him being downed till the last moves of the match ending with him and Goblin #1 impaled on each others swords, the bard trying to shout insults to damage him to no avail.

In other words, the battle was a huge success, only having two of my characters downed and having learned some awesome things about each character class that I never thought was possible. I mean insults damaging people? I never knew bards could be so interesting. I’d never be one, but now I have a newfound respect for the song singers, not that it means I wont make them meat-shields in the future, just that I wont take them for granted if I go against them.

All in all, this experience was great, I can’t believe I waited so long to even try to learn the game. Out of fear of being judge or even the fear of not being as knowledgeable about tabletop games as other people and being judged for it, I stopped myself from enjoying something like this that could breed such humor and imagination. It’s weird discovering things so late in life, because it makes me sound like a child but I’ll live with sounding like a child if I get to enjoy this game as much as I did today.

So I guess a lesson for anyone reading this is, don’t let fear stop you from doing something that could be exciting, or just something you are interested in, just do it! You can’t just hold off on what could be a great experience, doing that just leaves you with “what ifs” while everyone else is off having an awesome time doing what you’re afraid to. Keeping an open mind and not letting the stress bother you enough to halt fun, you live a life half lived.

A lesson I learned a little late in life apparently.

-ProdigiousJ

 

 

Leave a Reply

